Skip navigation

Unpublishing content items

When you publish a content item in Kentico Kontent, it becomes publicly available via the Delivery API. After publishing, you can either unpublish the content item or create a new version of it.

When you unpublish content items, they will no longer be publicly available via the Delivery API. If done by accident, unpublishing may break your app.

Table of contents

    Unpublishing a content item

    To unpublish a single content item:

    1. From the app menu, choose .
    2. Click a published content item to open it.
    3. In the content details on the right, click Unpublish.
      • If the action isn't available, go to > Workflow and see how the Published step is set up.
    A screenshot of the Unpublish button under content details.

    The system switches the workflow step of the content item to its initial workflow state (which is usually Draft). Public access to this content item is now disabled.

    Unpublishing multiple content items

    To unpublish two or more content items at once:

    1. From the app menu, choose .
    2. Select the content items you want to unpublish.
    3. Click  More actions.
    4. Choose Unpublish.

    What's next?