Skip navigation

Unpublish content items

If you don't need a content item anymore but you don't want to delete it altogether, archive it. You archive an item by moving it to the Archived workflow step. That's one of the workflow steps like Draft or Scheduled/Published.

When you archive a published item, it also gets unpublished. This means it's no longer available via the Delivery API. If done by accident, unpublishing may lead to a page not found error in your app, for example.

Keep in mind that changing a workflow step depends on your role permissions and your project's workflow setup.

Table of contents

    Unpublish and archive a content item

    1. In , open a published item you want to unpublish and archive.
    2. Click Unpublish and archive in the right sidebar.
    3. Confirm the action by clicking Unpublish and archive in the popup.

    Archived content items are read-only. You can't edit them just like you can't edit a published item.

    If you archived an item by accident, you can restore it.

    Unpublish and archive a content item

    Archive an item that isn't published

    To archive an item that hasn't been published yet, change its workflow step to Archived. This transition needs to be allowed in your workflow setup.

    Unpublish and archive multiple content items

    1. In , select published content items you want to unpublish and archive.
    2. Click Unpublish and archive.
    3. Click Unpublish and archive in the popup.

    If you also selected items that haven't been published yet, you'll see them highlighted in yellow because they didn't get archived. To archive these items, change their workflow step to Archived. Your workflow setup needs to allow the transition for all the selected items.

    Archived content items are read-only. You can't edit them just like you can't edit a published item.

    If you archived some items by accident, you can restore them.

    Change workflow step popup where you can archive items.

    Restore an archived content item

    To work with an archived content item again, you need to restore it. When you restore an item, it always goes to the first workflow step that's available to you.

    1. Go to .
    2. (Optional) Filter content items by the Archived workflow step.
    3. Open the archived item you want to restore.
    4. Click Restore to Draft in the right sidebar.
      • The button text may differ if your first workflow step isn't Draft.
    Restore a content item

    Restore content items in bulk

    1. Go to .
    2. (Optional) Filter content items by the Archived workflow step.
    3. Select all the items you want to restore.
    4. Click > Restore to Draft.
      • The button text may differ if your first workflow step isn't Draft.
    5. In the popup that opens, assign a contributor.
    6. Click Restore.
    Restore content items in bulk

    What's next?