Skip navigation

Creating new versions of content items

There are times when you need to update a content item while keeping its current version published. For example, while making updates to the content of an article published on your website that you want to keep visible to the public even while you update.

In such cases, you need to create a new version of the content item.

Table of contents

    Creating new versions

    To create a new version of a content item:

    1. From the app menu, choose .
    2. Click a published content item to open it.
    3. In the notification bar at the top, click Create a new version.
      • If the action isn't available, go to > Workflow and check the limitations for the Published step.

    The workflow step of the content item changes to its initial workflow state (which is usually Draft).

    A screenshot of where to click to create a new version.

    The system creates a new version of the content item and the previous version stays published. This new version of the content item becomes enabled for editing. You can keep track of the published and draft versions of your content items by comparing versions in the version list.

    Before you publish your new version, you can preview how it looks. Once you publish your changes, the currently published version of your content item gets replaced by the new version.

    Created a new version by mistake?

    To discard your item's latest version, under More actions, click Discard version.

    You can still find your discarded content among the content item’s old versions.

    What's next?