Moving content items through their workflow

Moving your content items through the workflow steps defined in your project workflow settings will help you keep progressing your content towards completion. For example, after finishing a draft of an article, you might want to change its workflow step to Review and assign your editor to the item. 

See how to move content through its workflow inside the app.

Table of contents

    Changing the workflow step of a single item

    To update the workflow of a single content item:

    1. From the app menu, choose Content & Assets .
    2. Click a content item to open it for editing.
    3. Click Change workflow .
    4. Select the workflow step you want to set. The next step in the workflow is automatically preselected. 
    5. Assign contributors to the content item. You need to assign at least one contributor who can work with the new workflow step.
    6. (Optional) Leave a note or instructions for contributors.
    7. (Optional) Set a due date for the content item.
    8. Click Change workflow.

    Tip: See how to assign contributors, add notes, and set due dates without changing the workflow step.

    Changing the workflow step for multiple items

    To bulk update the workflow step for multiple items at once:

    1. From the app menu, choose Content & Assets .
    2. Select the content items you would like to change the workflow step for.
    3. Click More actions .
    4. Choose Change workflow and continue as with a single item.

    What's next?