Creating and archiving projects

Kentico Kontent allows you to create and work on multiple projects so that you can better organize your work when working with multiple clients. A project is the primary organizational unit of your content.

Switch between your projects using the project switcher in the top toolbar. You can only manage the projects you have created. Once your project is no longer needed, you can archive it.

See how to create new projects and how to manage existing projects inside the app.

Table of contents

    Creating projects

    To create a new project:

    1. Click your initials in the bottom left corner and choose My projects.
    2. Click Create new project in the top right corner.
    3. Type a name of the project.
    4. Select a subscription the project will fall under.
    5. Select a data center for your data.
    6. (Optional) Select an existing project to be used as a template.
    7. Click Create project.

    There are a few things to keep in mind when creating a new project:

    Creating a new project in Kentico Cloud

    Renaming projects

    Mistyped or want to change a project name? You can change the project name at any time.

    1. Choose the project you want to rename.
    2. From the app menu, choose Project settings.
    3. Under project settings, choose Name.
    4. Enter the new project name in Project name.

    The changes are saved automatically.

    Archiving projects

    Only subscription admins can archive projects.

    What happens to archived projects?

    When you archive a project, it means that its content cannot be accessed anymore and all Kentico Kontent APIs for that project are disabled.

    Here's a list of the most important things that are disabled after archiving:

    • The Delivery API will be disabled. This may break live applications that retrieve content from the project.
    • All contributors on the project will be deactivated and won’t count towards your current usage (unless some of those contributors are still active in other projects).
    • No one will able to access the project anymore until you activate it again.

    Note: Content items and assets in archived projects don't count towards your usage.

    To archive a project:

    1. Click your initials in the bottom left corner and choose My projects.
    2. On the project card of a specific project, click  More actions.
    3. Click Archive.

    Activating projects

    If you later need to activate a project, click Restore project.

    After activating, make sure to activate contributors who were invited to the project so they can start working on content again.

    What's next?