Skip navigation

Role permissions

When configuring roles in your project, you can choose from a number of permissions. Each permission defines what your users can do within a Kentico Kontent project.

Premium feature

Custom roles require a Business plan or higherOpens in a new window.

Table of contents

    Content production

    The View ‌permission allows users to:

    The Edit ‌permission allows users to:

    The Create ‌permission allows users to:

    The Delete ‌permission allows users to:

    Restrict access to specific content

    You can allow users to work with all content or only the content items assigned to them. The role can be further defined by setting which specific content types and content groups the role can work with.

    If there are specific content types and content groups that you don't want the role to work with, exceptions can be added to the role.

    Active permissions and workflow

    The content capabilities of a given role can be further restricted by your project's content workflow setup. For each step in the workflow, you can limit which roles can work on content in a given workflow step and move it to the following steps.

    For example, if you want only Project managers to be able to publish content:

    1. Set up your workflow steps so that only a single step transitions to the Published step, for example a step named Approved.
    2. Limit the Approved workflow step to the Project manager user role.

    For a more thorough example of using roles and workflow together, see Setting up a common production flow.

    Content models

    The Manage content types and content type snippets permission allows users to:

    The Manage taxonomy permission allows users to:

    • View taxonomy groups and terms.
    • Add, modify, and delete taxonomy groups and terms.

    The Manage sitemap permission allows users to:

    • Add, modify, and delete sitemap items.

    Development

    Working with the Management API

    When using the Management API to work with your Kontent project, no other role restrictions are applied. The Manage APIs permission overrides all the other permissions your role may or may not have.

    The Manage APIs permission allows users to:

    The Manage development settings permission allows users to:

    • View and modify the codenames of content items.
    • View and modify preview URLs.
    • View, add, modify, and delete webhooks.

    Project

    The Manage localization permission allows users to:

    The Manage workflow steps permission allows users to:

    • View the project's content workflow settings.
    • Add, modify, and delete workflow steps.
    • Reorder workflow steps.

    The Invite and manage team members permission allows users to:

    The Manage custom roles permission allows users to:

    • Add, modify, and delete custom roles.

    What's next?

    Set up a common production flow for your project and see how roles and content workflow can work together to your team's benefit.