Skip navigation

Invite and deactivate users

3 min read

Invite users to your team so that they can start creating content in your Kentico Kontent project. If the user you want to invite is already active on a project, you can invite them to another project within the same subscription – they'll count as one active user.

Table of contents

    Inviting a new user

    You can fill in multiple email addresses to invite more users at once. When you do, you assign them all the same combination of collections, roles, and languages.

    1. In Project settings, select Users.
    2. (Optional) Select an environment to which you want to invite the user.
    3. Click Invite users.
    4. Fill in the email.
    5. Select a combination of roles and languages for each collection you assign to the user.
    6. Click Invite.

    The new user receives an email with an invitation to the project.

    Dialog shown when inviting a user to your project.

    After the user accepts the invitation, they count as an active user within your subscription until you deactivate the user.

    Reaching the user limit

    If you reach the maximum number of active users for your subscription, you'll be prevented from inviting more users. The maximum is different for each plan. To invite more users in such cases, you need to upgrade your subscription to a higher plan.

    Inviting users from other projects

    If the user you want to invite is active in another project of yours, you can invite them to the new project. This won't affect the number of active users within the subscription.

    You can select and invite multiple users at once. When you do, you assign them all the same combination of collections, roles, and languages.

    1. In Project settings, select Users.
    2. (Optional) Select an environment to which you want to invite the user.
    3. Click Invite users.
    4. Select existing user from the Email field.
    5. Select a combination of roles and languages for each collection you assign to the user.
    6. Click Invite.

    The invited user is automatically added to the project and notified via email.

    Deactivating users

    If you wish to stop a user from working on a specific project, you can deactivate the user per project. When you deactivate users in one project, they can still be active in other projects.

    Once you deactivate a user in all projects the user is assigned to, they won't count towards the limit of active users in your subscription plan.

    1. In Project settings, select Users.
    2. (Optional) Select an environment in which you want to deactivate the user.
    3. In the Status column of a specific user, click the switch to deactivate the user.

    If you're a subscription admin, you can also quickly deactivate users in all projects under a given subscription.

    List of users in the project

    Users cannot be removed, only deactivated

    In order to preserve the history of user comments, content edits, and other actions in older versions, users cannot be removed from a project, only deactivated.

    What's next?

    • If you invite someone new by mistake, you can revoke the invitation.