Skip navigation

Manage workflows

6 min read
Download PDF

Configure workflows when setting up your project to keep track of your content production progress and to support collaboration. You can set up different workflows for different types of content. For example, marketing content and legal content can have different workflow steps, transitions, and role permissions.

Table of contents

    How to set up a workflow

    When setting up workflows for your team, we recommend you think through establishing roles for your users and then using those roles to set up workflows for effective content strategy.

    You can make your workflow as simple or as complex as your content creation process requires:

    • For each step, you can define workflow transitions so that your content contributors have clear steps to follow. For example: Draft > Review > Approved Published.
    • For each step, you can specify which roles can work with it. For example, only Reviewers can move content from Review to Approved.

    Once your project workflow is set up, the people on your team know exactly how they fit into the process.

    List of available workflows in Project settings

    Create a new workflow

    1. In Project settings, select Workflows.
      Here, you see the list of existing workflows. You can edit a workflow by clicking its name.
    2. Click Create new.
    3. Type a clear descriptive name of the new workflow.
    4. (Optional) Assign content types to the workflow.
    5. Set up the workflow steps.

    Assign content types to the workflow

    For every workflow except the default one, you can select content types for which you want to use the particular workflow.

    1. In the workflow editing screen, go to the Use this workflow for section.
    2. Click the Content type field to open the list of available content types.
    3. Click a content type to select it.
    4. (Optional) Repeat the previous step to select more content types.
    5. Click Save changes at the top right.
    The workflow editing screen with content type selector opened

    Now the workflow you've just created or edited will be available only for content items of the selected content types.

    If you want to remove a content type from the selection, click the button next to its name. When you remove all content types from the selection, the workflow can be used for any type.

    What about the default workflow?

    You can't set content type limitations for the default workflow. This is to ensure that every content item has at least one workflow available.

    The default workflow isn't available for content items of the types you've selected in other workflows.

    Add workflow steps

    1. In Project settings, select Workflows.
    2. Next to a workflow step, click .
      The new step appears below the existing one.
    3. Configure the step as you desire.
    4. Click Confirm.
    5. Click Save changes at the top right.

    Change workflow transitions

    When configuring transitions for a workflow step, make sure the step can still eventually transition to the final Published step.

    To change the transitions of a workflow step, click the step name and select transitions to and from the step. Then confirm and save your changes to the workflow.

    Configuring transitions for a workflow step

    Limit workflow steps to roles

    You can limit which roles can work on content in a given workflow step. This includes the ability to move content items to the next workflow step. By limiting steps to roles, you can set up a complex workflow where, for example, only the editor and the legal team can move content items to the Approved step and then publish them.

    Multiple workflows and restrictions on the first workflow step

    If you have multiple workflows enabled in your project, role restrictions on the first workflow step work a bit differently.

    When a user creates a content item in a workflow where they can't work with the first step, the item gets created in the first step anyway but the user can't work with the item because of their role permissions.

    In case you don't have multiple workflows enabled, users whose role can't work with the first workflow step create content items in the first step they can work with.

    By default, the predefined workflow steps (Draft, Published, and Archived) are limited to the Project Manager role but you can always change that.

    To limit a workflow step to specific roles, click the step name, and select one or more roles from the list. Then confirm and save your changes to the workflow.

    How to assign roles to a workflow step.

    When changing the workflow step of an item, you always need to assign at least one contributor whose role allows them to work with the new workflow step.

    Control who can create new versions and unpublish

    Choose which roles can create new versions of content and which roles can unpublish. To do this, edit the Scheduled / Published step and select appropriate roles for each action.

    Where to set up limitations for creating and archiving content

    Delete workflow steps

    If you want to stop using a workflow step, you can delete it when no content item is in that step.

    1. Go to  Project settings, select Workflows.
    2. Open for editing the workflow in which the step is.
    3. Click the workflow step.
    4. Click Delete.
    5. Click Save changes at the top right.

    After deleting a workflow step, make sure that content items can still reach the final Published step.

    The following workflow steps are always present in your project and cannot be removed:

    • Scheduled – for content already planned for publishing
    • Published – for content that is released
    • Archived – for content that is withdrawn and obsolete

    Moreover, there must be at least one other step for editing content. By default, your project comes with the Draft step for this purpose.

    What's next?