Skip navigation

Manage workflow

Configure the workflow when setting up your project to track in which state your content is and to support collaboration.

You can make your workflow as simple or as complex as your content creation process requires:

  • For each step, you can choose workflow transitions so that your content contributors have clear steps to follow. For example: Draft > Review > Approved Published.
  • For each step, you can specify which roles can work with it. For example, only Reviewers can move content from Review to Approved.

Once your project workflow is set up, the people on your team know exactly how they fit into the process.

Table of contents

    Add workflow steps

    1. From the app menu, choose .
    2. Under Environment settings, switch to Workflow.
    3. Next to a workflow step, click  – the new step appears below the existing one.
    4. Configure the step as you desire and click Confirm.
    5. Click Save changes in the top right to save the new project workflow.

    Change workflow transitions

    When configuring transitions for a workflow step, make sure the step can still eventually transition to the final Published step.

    To change the transitions of a workflow step, click the step name and choose transitions to and from the step. Then confirm and save your changes to the project workflow.

    Limit workflow steps to roles

    You can limit which roles can work on content in a given workflow step. This includes the ability to move content items to the next workflow step. By limiting steps to roles, you can set up a complex workflow where, for example, only the editor and the legal team can move content items to the Approved step.

    To limit a workflow step to specific roles, click the step name, and choose one or more roles from the list. Then confirm and save your changes to the project workflow.

    How to assign roles to a workflow step.

    When changing the workflow step of an item, you always need to assign at least one contributor whose role allows them to work with the new workflow step.

    Control who can create new versions and unpublish

    You can choose which roles can create new versions of content and which can unpublish. To do this, edit the Scheduled / Published step and choose appropriate roles for each limitation.

    A screenshot of the Published step limitations.

    Delete workflow steps

    If you want to stop using a workflow step, you can delete it when no content item is in that step.

    1. From the app menu, choose .
    2. Under Environment settings, switch to Workflow.
    3. Click a workflow step.
    4. Click Delete.
    5. Click Save changes in the top right to save the new project workflow.

    After deleting a workflow step, make sure that content items can still reach the final Published step.

    The following workflow steps are always present in your project and cannot be removed:

    • Scheduled – for content already planned for publishing
    • Published – for content that is released
    • Archived – for content that is withdrawn and obsolete

    Moreover, there must be at least one other step for editing content. By default, your project comes with the Draft step for this purpose.

    What's next?