Skip navigation

Configure and assign roles

Roles define a set of permissions that you can assign to your users within a project. Configuring roles is an important part of setting up your Kontent project.

You can create roles for different groups of users, such as content contributors, reviewers, developers, and more. Invite users to your project and give them specific permissions that other users don't have.

Table of contents

    Roles apply to everyone so to configure roles in your project, you'll need the Manage custom roles permission.

    Add new roles

    By default, there's only the Project manager role in Kontent, allowed to do anything. Add a new role when you want to customize permissions.

    1. From the app menu, choose .
    2. Under Project settings, switch to Roles.
    3. Click Create new.
    4. Name the new role, for example, Copywriter.
    5. Select the permissions for the role, such as View, edit, create, and delete all content items.
    6. Click Save changes.

    After creating the custom role for content contributors, you can assign it to your existing users or invite new users with this role pre-assigned.

    Delete roles

    You can delete a custom role if:

    To delete a role:

    1. From the app menu, choose .
    2. Under Project settings, switch to Roles.
    3. Click on a custom role to open it.
    4. Click Delete.

    The role has been deleted from your project. If you're within your plan limits, you can undo the deletion.

    You cannot delete the Project manager role from your project.

    Assign roles to users

    1. From the app menu, choose .
    2. Click a user to open their user details.
    3. Set the desired role.
    4. Click Save.
    Assigning another role to an existing user.

    Check your role in projects

    To check your role, click your initials in the bottom left corner and choose Projects.

    The Projects screen shows which role you were assigned in each project.

    Viewing a list of projects in Kentico Kontent.

    What's next?