Skip navigation

Manage projects

Kentico Kontent allows you to create and work on multiple projects so that you can better organize your work when working with multiple clients. A project is the primary organizational unit of your content.

Switch between your projects using the project switcher in the top toolbar. You can only manage the projects you have created. Once your project is no longer needed, you can archive it.

Table of contents

    Creating projects

    To create a new project:

    1. Click your initials in the bottom left corner and choose Projects.
    2. Click Create new project in the top right corner.
    3. Type a name of the project.
    4. Select a subscription the project will fall under.
    5. Select a data center for your data.
    6. (Optional) Select an existing project to be used as a template.
    7. Click Create project.

    There are a few things to keep in mind when creating a new project:

    Creating a new project in Kentico Kontent

    Renaming projects

    Mistyped or want to change a project name? You can change the project name at any time.

    1. Choose the project you want to rename.
    2. From the app menu, choose .
    3. Under project settings, choose Name.
    4. Enter the new project name in Project name.
    Changing the project's name

    The changes are saved automatically.

    Creating a sample project

    If you want to see a fully-featured project with a website and mobile app, you can create a Sample Project.

    1. Click your initials in the bottom left corner and choose Projects.
    2. Click Create complete sample project.
    3. Select a subscription the project will fall under.
    4. Click Create project.

    Once you have your own Sample Project, you can use it to run one of our sample apps or build your own app.

    Archiving projects

    Only subscription admins can archive projects.

    What happens to archived projects?

    When you archive a project, it means that its content cannot be accessed anymore and all Kentico Kontent APIs for that project are disabled.

    Here's a list of the most important things that are disabled after archiving:

    • The Delivery API will be disabled. This may break live applications that retrieve content from the project.
    • All contributors on the project will be deactivated and won’t count towards your current usage (unless some of those contributors are still active in other projects).
    • No one will able to access the project anymore until you activate it again.

    Content items and assets in archived projects don't count towards your usage.

    To archive a project:

    1. Click your initials in the bottom left corner and choose Projects.
    2. On the project card of a specific project, click .
    3. Click Archive.

    Restoring projects

    If you later need to restore an archived project, click Restore project.

    After restoring, make sure to activate contributors who were invited to the project so they can start working on the content again.

    Deleting projects

    If you don't need a project anymore, you can also delete it. It's useful to clean up the growing list of archived projects if you're, for example, cloning your projects for continuous integration purposes or experimenting with different content models.

    When you delete a project, all of its content, settings, and languages are deleted, and all users lose access to it. This action is irreversible.

    To delete a project, follow the instructions for archiving projects, just click Delete instead of Archive at step 3. Then enter the name of the project you're about to delete and click Delete project.

    What's next?